Irene “Liz” Torres 2024 Heritage Hog

Scholarship Recipient

The Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds Foundation has selected Watsonville FFA Member Irene “Liz” Torres as this year’s recipient of the $3,000 Heritage Hog Scholarship. The Foundation congratulates Irene on her accomplishments raising and exhibiting livestock and wished the greatest success in her future endeavors.

Irene will raise this year’s Heritage Hog donated by Country Hills Feed, and bring it to the Santa Cruz County Fair to be auctioned September 14, 2024 at the Jr. Livestock Auction.

Irene will be attending Chico State in the fall to study Sustainable Agribusiness. As student of the year for the Agriculture Department at Watsonville High, Irene has demonstrated her leadership and dedication by raising and selling hogs through her schools FFA Chapter and managing the chicken cooperative independently for the past three years. In her own words, Irene has a deep appreciation for agriculture and the rigorous work it entails, she dreams of one day having a farm of her own. Irene’s passion and vision will drive meaningful change in the agricultural industry, and we are proud to support her on this exciting journey.



The Heritage Hog is a fundraising program that helps local youth further their agricultural education and at the same time raise funds for improvements to the Fairgrounds. Proceeds support future scholarships and are used for improving facilities on the Fairgrounds that in many ways benefit the youth of our community.

We hope that you will contribute generously to the 2024 Heritage Hog Scholarship Program!

Click the DONATE button to make your donation now. We appreciate your generous support.


Heritage Hog Scholarship Hall of Fame

 2023 – Bianka Pena

2019 – Isabel Hanchai

2015 – Janell Moules

2022 – Jasmine Hernandez

2018 – Jacob Dixon

2021 Anisa Velasco

2017 Anisa 

2020 Chardonay Coates

2016 – Yuritza Arciga